Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorMathdude314 (Advanced Member)
    • CommentTimeJun 7th 2014 edited

Here's my try for RPS. There are bugs, so please load it into the editor. I'm new to multiplayer stuff, but here it is. I sure hope the source is enabled...

I wanted to add a chat feature, so you can talk to your opponent, but that's like putting the roof on a house before the walls are built.

I used Tapir's tic-tac-toe code and modified it, because I needed a base code to work with.-----------------
    If less people are active, that will only make for even less activity. Start making those designs!
    Currently working on a one-round no-elimination quick RP game...
    •  
      CommentAuthorTapir
    • CommentTimeJun 8th 2014

good try!

I modified it a bit"
    1. in the OnChannelMessage event handler, check if the sender seat index is opponent, if false, that means the sender is yourself.
    (a message will be sent to every seat, including you).
    2. change the channel mode from chess to wego. wego is more suitable for this game type.
    3. reset text in Restart function.

-----------------
    My games: Tapir Games
    My phyards: Tapir@phyard
    •  

Ok, here's my updates. For some reason, when I play in the editor, it says "Opponent chose Paper" on both sides!

-----------------
    If less people are active, that will only make for even less activity. Start making those designs!
    •  

I tried to improve it further, but ran into serious problems. I tried to fix the "You chose Paper. Opponent chose Paper. You lost! :(" problem and got about ten more!

-----------------
    •  
      CommentAuthorTapir
    • CommentTimeJun 9th 2014

in your design just following my last comment, you should put
    global["OpponentPick"] = ReadUTFString
    in the else block.-----------------
    •  
    • CommentTimeJun 9th 2014